Exhibitions 2007 Toggle

Browse Exhibitions by year:

Bloomsbury – A Vision For The Future

Thursday 4 January 2007 – Saturday 3 March 2007

Presenting Sir Terry Farrell’s plans to develop Bloomsbury as one of the best pedestrian environments in London.

Public City

Thursday 18 January 2007 – Saturday 3 March 2007

The spaces between buildings are as important as the buildings themselves. All over London new projects for public space improvement are taking place. This exhibition will look at these projects and proposals and will investigate the impact this will have on the way we experience and use the city.

Zero Carbon – Design Proposals For Gallions Park

Friday 9 March 2007 – Saturday 14 April 2007

Gallions Park is the first zero carbon development promoted by the London Development Agency. The exhibition will showcase design proposals from the recent competition held to select a developer to build 200 new homes. Gallions Park is located at the eastern end of the Royal Albert Dock.

Sustainable London

Friday 9 March 2007 – Saturday 28 April 2007

All but a few diehard doubters now accept that climate change is an issue which we are going to have to address decisively if our lives are not going to be changed irrevocably by its effects.

My City Too!

Wednesday 18 April 2007 – Tuesday 22 May 2007

My City Too Is an innovative campaign for London led by Open House – the architecture education organisation. It will gather young people’s ideas and aspirations for the future of London’s built environment.

Shop - New Retail Space For London

Thursday 3 May 2007 – Saturday 23 June 2007

What sort of shopping do Londoners want?

Offley Works

Wednesday 27 June 2007 – Saturday 28 July 2007

Revealing the winning and shortlisted designs for Offley Works – a competition to choose an architect for a 6,000sqm mixed use development in Kennington, from a shortlist drawn from finalists in The Architecture Foundation and Pipers Next Generation Award.

Scratching The Surface: London Facades By London Architects

Thursday 28 June 2007 – Saturday 1 September 2007

The face of London is changing. Today’s architects have an exciting range of materials to choose from and the technology exists to allow these to be applied with confidence. A new sense of place is being created by a new generation of buildings by architects who are not afraid to break away from the traditional.

Renaissance: The Revitalisation Of Elephant & Castle

Tuesday 17 July 2007 – Thursday 6 September 2007

The £1.5 billion regeneration of Elephant and Castle is an ambitious urban redevelopment programme transforming one of London's oldest and most infamous areas.

Place Faking: Instant Heritage For The Thames Gateway

Tuesday 11 September 2007 – Wednesday 26 September 2007

New development in the Thames Gateway sees heritage as a way of maintaining continuity with a place’s past. But where the demands of alien scales of development are irreconcilable with historical conditions, can that sense of continuity be fabricated?

King's Cross Charrette

Friday 31 August 2007 – Saturday 29 September 2007

This is the second year that The Architects’ Journal has run a charrette (a one-day design exercise) with Argent, the developer of the huge area behind King's Cross railway station.

Sustainable Cities: Helping To Shape And Regenerate London

Monday 1 October 2007 – Wednesday 10 October 2007

The process of achieving planning permission in our eco-conscious world is becoming more rigorous. The Environmental Impact Assessment process helps achieve good quality design, planning policy compliance, community benefits and the future-proofing of our buildings. This exhibition highlights a range of London projects that have been through this process and as a result, are better buildings.

Away From Home - New Hotels In London

Thursday 6 September 2007 – Saturday 27 October 2007

London currently receives some 27 million visitors a year. With some half a million people visiting London for the Olympics alone, experts predict a rise in demand for hotel accommodation of anything up to 80,000 rooms by 2026.

On The Urban Designing Of Architecture

Wednesday 3 October 2007 – Saturday 27 October 2007

In 2007, for the first time, 50% of the world’s population are city dwellers. How do architects respond to this dramatic change, which is delivering increasingly more challenging and constrained development opportunities?

Yaya 2007 - Searching For The Stars Of The Future

Friday 12 October 2007 – Saturday 10 November 2007

Now in its tenth year, the Young Architect of the Year Award is organised by Building Design to recognise and reward the UK’s most promising architect aged 40 or under, or practices where the majority of principals are under this age limit.

The Desire Line

Monday 5 November 2007 – Saturday 1 December 2007

Images of the M1 motorway in transition; from 50 year-old superhighway to a widened commuter route for the 21st Century, by photographer Matthew Walter.

Green Works

Thursday 8 November 2007 – Wednesday 5 December 2007

Green Works is an RMJM initiative inspired by the theme of Architecture Week 2007: “How green is my space?”

Specialist Skills In Designing Buildings

Wednesday 14 November 2007 – Tuesday 11 December 2007

A celebration of the specialist services needed to make modern buildings perform to the highest standards, range from developing the finest skins for buildings to modelling the way that crowds behave. In association with Buro Happold and Architect’s Journal.

The Regent's Place Pavilion

Thursday 6 December 2007 – Thursday 20 December 2007

The winning and shortlisted designs for British Land's new Regent's Place pavilion, won by Young Architect of the Year winners Carmody Groarke.

London's Learning

Thursday 1 November 2007 – Saturday 5 January 2008

The UK is currently experiencing the single largest school building investment programme for 50 years and yet the design quality of many schools completed over the last five years is simply not good enough to secure the government’s ambition to transform children’s education. London’s Learning features 30 exemplar case studies, giving a current snapshot of the state of British school design.