Don’t Move, Improve! 2016

Winning Projects 2016

House of Trace Tsuruta Architects

33 projects have been shortlisted for Don't Move, Improve! showcasing some of the most innovative home extensions in London

Now in its sixth year, the competition received a record number of entries, demonstrating a strong desire for people to use the best designers to radically rethink the homes in which they live. Organised in association with Dezeen, Heal’s and RIBA London, the awards seek out architectural innovation, from extensions on top of, underneath, on the side or back of buildings, to interior insertions, conversions, and garden studios.
The complete longlist of over 80 projects will feature in a three-month exhibition at NLA’s galleries in The Building Centre, from January to March 2016. Winners will be announced in January.

On Saturday 27 February a number of the shortlisted architects will offer free one-to-one design consultations at NLA for anyone wanting to extend their home. Further details will be announced in the new year.

Shortlist 2016 Toggle

Bhalerao House, NW2
by Paul Archer Design

Brackenbury House, W6
by Neil Dusheiko Architects

Calabria Road, N5
by Architecture for London

Camden Townhouse, NW1
by Ben Adams Architects

Clock House, N7
by Archmongers LLP

College Road, NW10

Craig and Siobhan's Place, SW12
by Alexander Owen Architecture

Cut and Frame House, N21
by Ashton Porter Architects

Extension One, N5
by Denizen Works

Facet House, E9
by Platform 5 Architects

Fitzrovia House, W1
by West Architecture

Folds, N4
by Bureau de Change Architects

Grange Yard, SE1
by MTA (Michael Trentham Architects)

Harcombe, N16
by forresterarchitects Ltd

Healey Street Rooftop, NW1
by Alan Morris Architect (AMA)

House for Agnes, W6
by Tigg Coll Architects
House of Trace, SE23
by Tsuruta Architects
Jam Factory, SE1
by Gibson Thornley

Kelross House, N5
by Paul Archer Design

Kenworthy Road, E9 
by Chris Dyson Architects

London Fields, E8 
by Scenario Architecture

Max House, N1 
by Paul Archer Design

Nook House, E5 
by MUSTARD Architects

Reighton Road, E5 
by Poulsom / Middlehurst Ltd

Sanderson House, N19 
by David Kohn Architects

Sewdley Street, E5 
by Giles Pike Architects

Shepherd's Bush Extension, W12 
by Studio 30 Architects

Shoreditch Loft, E1 
by Levitate

Talbot Road, N6 
by Lipton Plant Architects

The Gables, NW1

The Lantern, TW1 
by Fraher Architects Ltd

Turney Road, SE21 
by Ian McChesney Ltd

Warner House, EC1 
by Inside Out Architecture
Click here to see the full longlist.

Jury Toggle

  • Peter Murray, Chairman, New London Architecture, founder of the London Festival of Architecture, and member of the Mayor’s Design Advisory Group
  • Russ Edwards, Design Director, Pocket Living
  • Kay Hughes, Principle, Khaa
  • Dickon Robinson, Housing Consultant
  • Philippa Stockley, Journalist, Editor and Critic Specialising in Architecture and Design
  • Pia Benham, Head of Collections, Heal's
  • Tamsie Thompson, Director, RIBA London
  • Amy Frearson, Deputy Editor (Architecture), Dezeen

Media Partners Toggle

  • #
  • #

Sponsors Toggle

  • #
  • #

Partners Toggle

  • #
  • #

Share this page Toggle

Related Content, Events and News Toggle

Don't Move Improve! 2014/15


A timber-framed extension to a 1960’s estate in Gospel Oak designed by architects Maccreanor Lavington and a light-filled home in Bloomsbury designed by Stiff + Trevillion have been announced as overall winners of New London Architectureʼs fifth annual ʻDonʼt Move, Improve!ʼ awards to find Londonʼs best and most innovative new home improvements.